Kerala Sahitya Akademi Awards 2021: Rajasree, Vinoy Thomas, Vaisakhan among winners

Thrissur: The Kerala Sahitya Akademi Awards for the year 2021 were announced on Wednesday.

Noted writers R Rajasree and Vinoy Thomas shared the award for the best novel. Anwar Ali won the poetry award for his work 'Mahboob Express', and Devadas VM won the best short story award for 'Vazhi Kandupidikunnavar'.

Noted short story writer Vaisakhan and literary critic Prof KP Sankaran were awarded the fellowship. They will become distinguished members of the Akademi.

R Rajasree received the award for the best novel for her work "Kalyaniyennum Dakshayaniyennum peraya randu sthreekalude katha", published by Mathrubhumi Books. Vinoy Thomas received the same for his work "Putt."

Other awards include: Drama- Pradeep Mandoor
Literary Criticism- N. Ajayakumar
Scientific Literature- Dr Gopakumar Cholayil
Autobiography- Prof TJ Joseph, M Kunhaman
Travelogue- Venu
Translation- Aymanam John
Children's Literature- Raghunath Paleri
Comedy- Ann Pally

The award includes a cash prize of 25,000 rupees, a plaque and a certificate. For distinguished members, the award consists of Rs 50,000, gold medal of two sovereign, a citation, a medallion and a plaque.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.