Sunil Chhetri, Manisha Kalyan bag AIFF Footballer of the Year awards

1 min read
Read later

Photo: PTI

Sunil Chhetri bagged the All India Football Federation’s (AIFF) Footballer of the Year award on Tuesday. This is the seventh time he is winning the award - most by any player in history. Meanwhile, 20-year-old former Gokulam Kerala FC midfielder Manisha Kalyan bagged the Women's Footballer of the year award.

Chhetri, the third-highest international goalscorer among active players, behind only Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, scored four times this past year to help India qualify for the 2023 AFC Asian Cup. He was also the lead scorer in the SAFF Cup and the player of the competition.

Manisha Kalyan, the first Indian female footballer to play in the UEFA Women's Champions League, after signing with Apollon ladies in Cyprus, earlier bagged the 2020–21 AIFF Women's Emerging Footballer of the Year award.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.