Major reshuffle in Kerala Police; Manoj Abraham to be Vigilance Director

Manoj Abraham | Photo: Biju Varghese/ Mathrubhumi

Thiruvananthapuram: There was a major reshuffling in the Kerala police department on Friday. 19 officials of the department received transfers or change in posts.

Additional Director General of Police Manoj Abraham was appointed as Vigilance Director. Padmakumar has been given the charge of ADGP at police headquarters and AR Ajith Kumar will become the A battalion ADGP. Thummala Vikram was appointed as Inspector General of police for North Zone. Yogesh Gupta will return as the Bevco MD, while the current MD Shyam Sundar has been transferred as Crime Deputy Inspector General of police.

A significant reorganisation has been induced among the district-level police chiefs also. Merin Joseph and K Karthik were appointed as the Kollam city police commissioner and Kottayam SP respectively. By granting a transfer to the present Wayanad SP Aravind Sukumar, R Anand has been appointed as the new Wayanad SP. New Idukki SP will be Kuriakose VU.

R Kurup has been given charge of Kozhikode rural SP. The current Kozhikode rural SP A Sreenivas has been transferred as Special Branch (security) SP, while Kottayam district police chief D Shilpa was appointed as Women Cell SP.

Kollam City police commissioner T Narayanan was transferred to police headquarters as additional IG.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.