A A Rahim is CPM's RS candidate

AA Rahim | Photo: Mathrubhumi

Thiruvananthapuram: CPM has decided to field state committee member and DYFI national president A A Rahim in the Rajya Sabha elections.

The CPM available secretariat meeting, attended by CM Pinarayi Vijayan, arrived at the decision.

Rahim, who was the state president of DYFI, was promoted as national president as PA Mohammed Riyas had to vacate the position after he was inducted into the Pinarayi cabinet.

Rahim had contested the state Assembly elections in 2011 and lost to Varkala Kahar from the Varkala constituency.

LDF on Tuesday had decided that CPM and CPI would contest two of the three recent vacancies in the upper house from Kerala. CPI decided to field P Santhosh Kumar to the RS seat.

Besides Rahim, the names of Jaick C Thomas and SFI national president VP Sanu were also under consideration of CPM for the post.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.