Record turnout in Gujarat first phase polls

Over 45 per cent voter turnout was recorded till 2 pm today in the 89 seats Gujarat Assembly seats that went to polls today. The Election Commission said that 45.61 per cent voters exercised their franchise between 8 am and 2 pm. The voting will end at 5 pm. After the polling process began at 8 am, people could be seen queueing up to cast votes at polling stations. Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani, his opponent on the Rajkot-West seat Indranil Rajyaguru, senior Congress leader Ahmed Patel, Gujarat BJP chief Jitu Vaghani and Congress MLA of Amreli seat Paresh Dhanani were among key leaders who cast their votes.

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.