The Ministry of Home Affairs issued an order on Thursday enabling 10 central agencies to pry on any computers in the country “for the purposes of interception, monitoring and decryption of any information generated, transmitted, received or stored”.

The order was issued by Home Secretary Rajiv Gauba under the Information Technology Act, 2000. The 10 Security and Intelligence Agencies authorized by the ministry include:

  • Intelligence Bureau
  • Narcotics Control Bureau
  • Enforcement Directorate
  • Central Board of Direct Taxes
  • Directorate of Revenue Intelligence
  • Central Bureau of Investigation
  • National Investigation Agency
  • Cabinet Secretariat (RAW)
  • Directorate of Signal Intelligence (J&K, North-East and Assam only)
  • Commissioner of Police, Delhi


An earlier order of the ministry had authorized agencies to tap phone calls. While the new order enabled the agencies to intercept any sensitive information and if required, they could seize the devices.