Moodabidri: With the help of Alva’s college, Moodbidri, the host Mangalore won the hat-tric of title trophy in the All India Inter-University Athletic Championship. Mangalore won the title with 188 points.

With 114 points, Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam became the runner-up in the championship. Calicut University came in the third place with 69 points. 7 meet records were established on the last day of the meet.

In the women’s category, Mangalore snatched the trophy from MG University, scoring 78 points. The runner-up MG University had scored 74 points. Calicut University scored 33 points in their credit.

Mangalore came first in the men’s category with 110 points. The line up in women’s category continued in men’s category bringing MG at second place with 40 points and Calicut in third position with 33 points.

Sprinter S Dhanalakshmi of Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirappalli won the best female athlete title. The best male athlete is Sha Jai of Mumbai University. He is a triple jumper.

Seven meet records on last day

In women’s pole vault, Malayali athlete Maria Jaison of Jain University, Bengaluru re-established her own record of 3.65 meter in 2017 with her new distance 3.80 m. Though Bharanika of Madras University made the same distance (3.80m), Maria added the record under her name as she made the distance in her first go.

4x400 relay. Jista Mathew,
Abitha Mary Manuel,
Sheharbana Siddique
and UV Shruthiraj

The new record in hammer throw (61.93m) under women’s category was set by KM Rithu Dimanan of Mangalore. She made the record of Punjab’s KM Rachana (58.41m), a past story.

Calicut’s Muhammed Anis established a record (7.79m) in men’s long jump overturning M Srishanker’s (7.74m) record.

In the women’s 3000m steeplechase, Mangalore’s Bhagat Sheeth scribbled her name in the meet record book with a time of 10.34.53 minutes. With this, Mangalore’s Chauhan Jyothijaga Behadur’s 10.36.19 minutes became irrelevant. 

4x100 relay. NS Simi,
Akhina Babu,
SS Sneha and KS Akhila

Last year’s record (23.90 seconds) in women’s 200 m race created by VK Vismaya of MG University was subdued by S Dhanalakshmi of Bharthidasan University with a record time of 23.24 seconds. In the same event, NS Simi (23.60 seconds), MG University and V Revathi (23.66 seconds), Madurai Kamaraj University also toppled last year’s record.

Calicut’s women Shaharbana Siddique, UV Shruthiraj, Abitha Mary Manuel and Jista Mathew crossed the finishing point in 4x400 m relay in a record timing of 3.38.08 minutes.

Another record was established in women’s 4x100 relay by MG University’s women team comprised of NS Simi, Akhina Babu, SS Sneha and KS Akhila. They saw the finishing point in 46.48 seconds.