Verstappen takes pole at Spanish GP ahead of Sainz; Alonso 9th

1 min read
Read later

First place Red Bull driver Max Verstappen of the Netherlands celebrates on the podium after winning the Formula One Grand Prix at the Spa-Francorchamps racetrack in Spa, Belgium, Sunday, Aug. 28, 2022 | Photo: AP

MONTMELO: Max Verstappen steered his Red Bull to pole position at Formula One’s Spanish Grand Prix ahead of Carlos Sainz on Saturday.

The two-time defending champion and points leader has secured pole for four of seven races so far this season.

Sainz got his Ferrari into the front row, with Lando Norris third for McLaren.

Home favorite Fernando Alonso could do no better than ninth after his Aston Martin took some damage to the bottom of his car after running through the gravel.

Verstappen's teammate, Sergio Pérez, who has won two races this season, also struggled and will start from 11th.

Charles Leclerc took pole last year, but this time he will start the race from 19th after his Ferrari was perplexingly slow.

George Russell also had trouble and will start 12th right behind Pérez after complaining that his Mercedes was bouncing and that he “had no confidence with tires.” He and teammate Lewis Hamilton, who was fifth, even touched at one point while trying to launch flying laps, causing bits of one of their cars to fly off.

Verstappen and Pérez have swept all six wins this season. Verstappen leads Pérez by 39 points and Alonso by 51.

Rain during third practice earlier Saturday left some wet patches that caused several cars to spin into the gravel early in qualifying.

The race is on Sunday.


Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.

kbfc vs bfc

2 min

Bengaluru FC suffer opening day defeat to Kerala Blasters FC in ISL

Sep 21, 2023

Logo of Asian Games 2022

2 min

Waterpolo, softball side and 2 others miss out as Ministry clears 15 teams for Asian Games

Jul 27, 2023

Kerala squad for Santosh Trophy final round announced

1 min

Kerala team for Santosh Trophy final round announced

Apr 13, 2022