Sports Council: CPM seeks resignation of Mercy Kuttan; U Sharaf Ali likely to be next president

Mercy Kuttan, U Sharaf Ali | Photos: Mathrubhumi

Thiruvananthapuram: Kerala State Sports Council president Mercy Kuttan is likely to step down from the post. The government had asked her to resign due to internal issues in the council. Standing committee members are also likely to quit along with Mercy Kuttan.

Former international football player U Sharaf Ali would become the next president of the council. CPM had approached him to contest the 2021 Assembly polls as an independent candidate. However, he declined saying sports was his arena, not politics. He has not announced whether he will accept the new offer.

The decision to seek the resignation of Mercy Kuttan was taken at the CPM state secretariat meeting held recently. Vice-president OK Vineesh, committee members George Thomas, IM Vijayan and Rafeeq and Olympic Association members V Sunilkumar, S Rajeev and MR Ranjith are also asked to step down.

Mercy Kuttan was appointed in 2019 when PT Dasan vacated the office. She had tenure until April 2024. There has been a difference of opinion between Mercy Kuttan and sports minister V Abdurahiman lately.

Former international players have raised complaints about the council. There are allegations that the council is not active enough. Following this, Abdurahiman sought a report on the functioning of the council. CM also intervened in the matter.

Coaches have expressed concern that Kerala has slipped backwards in national sports festivals.

Mercy Kuttan, who arrived at council headquarters on Saturday evening, did not respond to questions about her resignation. She is likely to put her papers in on Monday.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.