Sharath Kamal nominated for Khel Ratna award; Eldhose Paul, HS Prannoy in Arjuna list

2 min read
Read later

Sharath Kamal, Eldhose Paul, HS Prannoy | ANI

New Delhi: Table Tennis champion and multi-time Commonwealth Games medalist Achanta Sharath Kamal has been nominated for the prestigious Khel Ratna award this year.

It is India's highest sporting honour given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. It was rechristened from Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna to Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna award last year.

Nominated players receive their awards from the President of India at the Presidential Palace on occasion of National Sports Day typically, which falls on August 29.

Kamal will become the second TT player after Manika Batra to receive the honour, as per The 40-year-old has had a great 2022, in which he won three gold medals and a silver at Commonwealth Games in Birmingham earlier this year in August.

He is the only player nominated for the award this year by India's national sports awards selection committee, which recommended 11 players last year and five in 2020.

Tokyo 2020 javelin throw champion Neeraj Chopra, badminton icon PV Sindhu and other top athletes like Bajrang Punia and Ravi Kumar Dahiya cannot be recommended for the honour as they have already won it in past.

Apart from this, 25 players earned recommendations for Arjuna Awards. Some of the players include badminton star Lakshya Sen, boxing champion Nikhat Zareen, boxer Amit Panghal and triple jumper Eldhose Paul, who are all gold medalists from CWG 2022, have been recommended for the award.

Indian cricket skipper Rohit Sharma's coach Dinesh Lad has earned nomination for Dronacharya Award in the 'Lifetime' category while the nominees in 'Regular' category include, Wrestler Bajrang Punia's coach Sujit Mann, boxing coach Mohammad Ali Qamar, archery coach Jiwanjot Singh Teja and rifle coach Suma Shirur (para shooting).

List of Indian athletes recommended for Arjuna Award for 2022

Seema Punia (athletics), Eldhose Paul (athletics), Avinash Sable (athletics), Lakshya Sen (badminton), HS Prannoy (badminton), Amit Panghal (boxing), Nikhat Zareen (boxing), Bhakti Kulkarni (chess), R Praggnanandha (chess), Deep Grace Ekka (hockey), Shushila Devi (judo), Sakshi Kumari (kabaddi), Nayan Moni Saikia (lawn bowls), Sagar Ovhalkar (mallakhamb), Elavenil Valarivan (shooting), Om Prakash Mitharval (shooting), Sreeja Akula (table tennis), Vikas Thakur (weightlifting), Anshu Malik (wrestling), Sarita Mor (wrestling), Parveen (wushu), Manashi Joshi (para badminton), Tarun Dhillon (para badminton), Swapnil Patil (para swimming), Jerlin Anika J (deaf badminton). (ANI)

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.

Logo of Asian Games 2022

2 min

Waterpolo, softball side and 2 others miss out as Ministry clears 15 teams for Asian Games

Jul 27, 2023

Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh

1 min

Brij Bhushan, his son excluded from WFI electoral rolls, ex-chief says he 'opted out'

Jul 26, 2023

Sports Minister welcomes Argentina team to Kerala

1 min

Kerala happy to make arrangements to host Messi-Led Argentina’s match: Sports Minister V Abdurahiman

Jun 23, 2023