U19 World Cup final: India restricted to 177 against Bangladesh after middle order collapse

The reigning champions gave the away the remaining wickets cheaply in the last 15 overs, which resulted in one of the lowest first innings score in an Under 19 World Cup.

Bangladesh bowlers celebrating the dismissal of Indian batsman. (Photo- ICC Cricket World Cup)

Potchefstroom (South Africa): India have been dismissed for 177 in the Under 19 Cricket World Cup final against Bangladesh here. Indian middle order crumbled after the dismissal of Yashasvi Jaiswal, who led the innings with a score of 88. Apart from Jaiswal, only two batsmen managed to get past single digits.

At one stage, India were 140 for the loss of three wickets. Although the scoring rate was on the slower side, the team looked as if it was gradually gaining momentum. The reigning champions gave away the remaining wickets cheaply in the last 15 overs, which resulted in one of the lowest first innings scored in an Under 19 World Cup.

Jaiswal's partnership with Tilak Varma (38) steadied the Indian innings after the early fall of opener Divyansh Saxena (2). Following the departure of Tilak, skipper Priyam Garg stepped on to the crease, however he could not contribute much towards the total and was dismissed for 7 by Rakibul Hasan. Things went downhill from there as nobody even offered any sort of resistance.

The Bangladesh team displayed great intent and discipline from the first ball of the innings. There were not any loose balls or fielding slip ups from them. They also inflicted two run outs against India, which came at critical junctures of the match.

The bowlers kept their line and length through out the innings, making it hard for Indian batsmen to play their shots. Avishek Das has been the pick of the bowlers after picking up 3 wickets. Shoriful Islam and Tamzim Hasan Shakib picked up two wickets each while Rakibul Hasan picked up one wicket in the innings.

Earlier, Bangladesh won the toss and chose to bowl first. Bangladesh are looking for their maiden title in what is their first ever final while favourites India are looking to win a record extending fifth.

India have thus far won all matches they have played in the tournament. In the semi-final, a century from Yashasvi Jaiswal and a fifty from Divyaansh Saxena helped them beat Pakistan by 10 wickets to cruise to the title clash.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.