Suryakumar, Rahul drive India to victory against South Africa in T20I

2 min read
Read later

Suryakumar Yadav (R) and Virat Kohli | ANI

Guwahati: David Miller’s second Twenty20 century went in vain as India beat South Africa by 16 runs on Sunday to win the three-match series with an unassailable 2-0 lead.

Miller scored 106 not out off 47 balls after South Africa had been reduced to 47-3 in reply to India's 237-3 in the second T20.

Miller put on 174 with Quinton de Kock (69 not out) off 82 balls for the unbeaten fourth wicket.

The visitors finished at 221-3 and fell just short of what was India’s fourth-highest total in T20s.

This was after Suryakumar Yadav smashed 61 off 22 balls and Lokesh Rahul scored 57 off 28 for India, which batted first after losing the toss.

Rahul and Rohit Sharma (43) put on 96 for the opening stand. Yadav then went after South African bowling that was already struggling with high humidity.

Yadav hit five fours and five sixes, reaching his half-century off only 18 balls. It was the third fastest for India in T20s.

Virat Kohli scored 49 not out off 28 balls, and put on 102 runs off 40 deliveries with Yadav for the third wicket.

In reply, South Africa got off to a poor start. Arshdeep Singh (2-62) dismissed Temba Bavuma and No. 3 Rilee Rossouw for ducks.

This cost the Proteas vital early momentum that proved decisive in the end.

It was India’s first-ever bilateral T20 win over South Africa on home soil. It was also South Africa’s first defeat in seven bilateral engagements.

“India put us under pressure from the start. It allowed us to express ourselves," Miller said. “We had to go from ball 1 (but) we were just 16 runs short.”

The third T20 will be played in Indore on Tuesday in both sides’ final T20 warmups before the World Cup gets underway in Australia later this month.

India won the first T20 by eight wickets on Wednesday. It did not make any changes Sunday to that team.

South Africa made one change with pacer Lungi Ngidi coming in for wrist spinner Tabraiz Shamsi.

The match was only the third T20 at the Barsapara Stadium. AP

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.


2 min

India No. 1 ODI team in the world; tops all-three format 

Sep 23, 2023

india vs australia

1 min

India beat Australia by 5 wickets in first ODI of three-match series

Sep 22, 2023


2 min

ICC World Cup 2023: Official anthem 'Dil Jashn Bole' featuring Ranveer Singh out

Sep 20, 2023