India holds on for 4-run win against Ireland in 2nd T20

2 min read
Read later

Pacer Umran Malik held his nerve on the final ball as India beat Ireland by four runs in the second and last Twenty20 international

India's Harshal Patel (L) celebrates with teammates after winning the second Twenty20 International cricket match between Ireland and India at Malahide cricket club, in Dublin | Photo: AFP

Ireland: Pacer Umran Malik held his nerve on the final ball as India beat Ireland by four runs in the second and last Twenty20 international on Tuesday.

India scored 225-7 after choosing to bat first and Ireland gave the visitors a scare by reaching 221-5 in reply.

Deepak Hooda hit 104 in 57 balls, including nine fours and six sixes, in his first T20 ton for India. He shared a second-wicket stand of 176 with Sanju Samson, whose 42-ball 77 had nine fours and four sixes.

Hooda propped up India’s innings before Josh Little (2-38) took his wicket and Ireland then pinned the visitors back at the death as Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel and Harshal Patel all went for ducks.

Mark Adair took 3-42 in four overs of fast-medium pace. Craig Young (2-35) claimed the other wickets.

Paul Stirling and captain Andrew Balbirnie got Ireland's chase off to a good start with 72 runs in 5.4 overs.

Stirling scored 18 runs in the first over, clobbering Bhuvneshwar Kumar (1-46) for a six and three fours after two dot balls. He hit an 18-ball 40, with five fours and three sixes, before he was bowled by legspinner Ravi Bishnoi (1-41).

Ireland was still competitive at the halfway stage with 107-2 but lost Balbirnie in the 11th over, out for a 37-ball 60.

India looked set to win comfortably before a late comeback from George Dockrell (34 not out) and Adair (23 not out) put Ireland within touching distance of victory.

Ireland still needed 17 runs at the start of the last over, eight from the last three deliveries and six from the final ball to win but Malik (1-42) restricted Adair to a single and India swept the series 2-0.

It was Ireland's second-highest total in men’s T20 games, just behind 225-7 against Afghanistan in 2013.

Ireland kept the same side from the first T20 which it lost by seven wickets. India replaced Yuzvendra Chahal, Avesh Khan and an injured Ruturaj Gaikwad with Bishnoi, Harshal Patel and Samson.


Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.

wc final

10 min

A look into the past: 12 previous Cricket World Cup tournaments in the 50-over format

Sep 28, 2023


3 min

Maxwell bowls Australia to consolation win against India in third ODI ahead of Cricket World Cup

Sep 28, 2023

Yashpal Sharma (c) holds the trophy with squad player Ravi Shastri (2nd r) after the 1983 Cricket World Cup final | Getty Images

4 min

On this day, India played its first test, wins maiden Cricket World Cup title

Jun 25, 2022