India elect to bat against New Zealand in first ODI

Rohit Sharma and Tom Latham | Photo: AP

Hyderabad: Indian skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bat first in the first of three one-day internationals against New Zealand in Hyderabad on Wednesday.

The hosts were forced to make changes to the team that recently routed visiting Sri Lanka in a three-match ODI series, with all-rounder Axar Patel and KL Rahul unavailable because of personal commitments.

All-rounders Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur and wicketkeeper Ishan Kishan returned to the team.


India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubhman Gill, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (captain), Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley, Lockie Ferguson, Blair Tickner


Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.