India-Australia reduced to 8 overs each in 2nd T20


NAGPUR: India won the toss and chose to field against Australia on Friday with their second Twenty20 reduced to eight overs per team.

The toss was delayed by nearly three hours after a wet outfield at VCA Stadium. The game finally started at 9:30 p.m. local time — 2 1/2 hours after the scheduled start of play.

There is a two-over power play and bowlers are limited to a maximum of two overs.

India made two changes. Fit-again Jasprit Bumrah came in for Umesh Yadav. The hosts were also playing an additional batter with Rishabh Pant in for pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Australia also made two changes. Daniel Sams came in for the injured Nathan Ellis and batsman Josh Inglis made way for allrounder Sean Abbott owing to the curtailed game.

Heavy rain during the week in Nagpur stopped Friday but the outfield did not dry up in time for the game to start on time.

Australia leads the three-match T20 series 1-0 after winning a high-scoring opener in Mohali by four wickets.


India: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma (capt), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Australia: Aaron Finch (capt), Cameron Green, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Sean Abbott, Tim David, Matthew Wade, Pat Cummins, Daniel Sams, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.