Ind Vs SL, 2nd Test: Hosts inch closer to series sweep as bowlers bag three wickets

1 min read
Read later


Bengaluru: The hosts are just six wickets away from victory as they dismissed three batters to leave the visitors at 151/4 going into Tea on Day-3 of the second Test being played here at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Resuming Day-3 at 28/1 Sri Lankan captain Dimuth Karunaratne and Kusal Mendis batted well to take the team's total beyond the fifty run mark. Mendis was the aggressor of the two and he went on to score his half-century off just 57 balls.

Ravichandran Ashwin finally broke the partnership dismissing Mendis for 54 stumped by wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant, and the Lankans lost their second wicket for 97.

In the next over Jadeja cleaned up Angelo Mathews for 1 to leave Sri Lanka in a spot of bother at 98/3.

Dhananjaya de Silva walked in next and he along with skipper Karunaratne took the team's total beyond the triple-figure mark.

Ashwin struck for the second time in the innings as he dismissed Dhananjaya de Silva caught at short leg for 4 to put the visitors in further trouble at 105 for 4.

Wicket-keeper batter Niroshan Dickwella walked in after de Silva's dismissal while at the other end Sri Lankan skipper Karunaratne had scored a half-century.

Dickwella and Karunaratne took their team's total beyond the 150-run mark. Both ensured that there was no further damage as Karunaratne remained unbeaten on 67 while Dickwella was not out on 10 with Sri Lanka still needing 296 more runs to win with six wickets in hand.

Brief Scores: India 252/10 & 303/9 Declare vs SL 109/10 & 151/4 (Dimuth Karunaratne 67*, Kusal Mendis 54; Ravichandran Ashwin 2/40) ANI

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.

wc final

10 min

A look into the past: 12 previous Cricket World Cup tournaments in the 50-over format

Sep 28, 2023


2 min

Virat Kohli equals record of most fifty plus scores in T20Is

Sep 1, 2022

Yashpal Sharma (c) holds the trophy with squad player Ravi Shastri (2nd r) after the 1983 Cricket World Cup final | Getty Images

4 min

On this day, India played its first test, wins maiden Cricket World Cup title

Jun 25, 2022