2nd ODI: New Zealand seal series with 22- run victory over India

2 min read
Read later

New Zealand were leading the ODI series 1-0 after having won the opening match.

New Zealand bowler Kyle Jamieson after dismissing Navdeep Saini. (Photo- ICC Twitter)

Auckland: New Zealand avenged their defeat in the T20 series by sealing the three match ODI series against India. The Kiwis secured their victory in the second ODI by 22 runs.

In the end, valiant knocks by Ravindra Jadeja (55) and Navdeep Saini towards the end of the innings could not rescue India. Navneep Saini was dismissed after a very good knock of 45 runs and a brilliant partnership with Jadeja. Their partnership had given India the momentum to finish off the match, but it was broken by Kyle Jamieson. There is one more match to be played in the series

Except for Shreyas Iyer, no other player from the top order made any significant contribution with the bat. Iyer was dismissed by Hamish Bennett in the 28th over. Skipper Virat Kohli could not break away low scoring streak in the recent matches as he was dismissed for 15 by Tim Southee once again.

The dismissal of Virat Kohli (15), KL Rahul (4), Pritvi Shaw (24) and Mayank Agarawal (3) early on in the innings made the chase an uphill task for the remaining batsmen.

New Zealand were leading the ODI series 1-0 after having won the opening match.

Tim Southee was the pick of the Kiwi bowlers in the match after taking 2 wickets including that of Virat Kohli while giving away only 41 runs.

Earlier, Martin Guptill and Ross Taylor smashed half-centuries to power New Zealand to a competitive 273 for eight. Although Indian bowlers dismissed the middle order batsmen quickly, the resistance displayed by Ross Taylor towards the tail end of the innings took the home side to a healthy score.

Put in to bat, Guptill scored a run-a-ball 79 and alongwith his opening partner Herny Nicholls (41) shared a 93-run partnership but the hosts suffered a collapse, losing five wickets for 26 runs to slip to 197 for 8 at one stage.

Yuzvendra Chahal claimed three wickets, Shardul Thakur took two, while Ravindra Jadeja snapped one and effected a run-out to put the hosts in a spot of bother in the middle but Ross Taylor's brilliance saw them post a good score.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.

Mitchell Starc, second left, celebrates the wicket of Netherlands' Bas De Leede

1 min

Starc takes hat-trick as rain spoils Australia-Netherlands warm-up

Oct 1, 2023


1 min

Virat Kohli to join Indian team soon after flying to Mumbai due to personal emergency: Report

Oct 2, 2023

Former cricketer Virender Sehwag

2 min

Sehwag urges BCCI to have 'Bharat' written on players' World Cup jersey instead of India

Sep 5, 2023