T20 World Cup: India wins toss, opts to bat against South Africa

1 min read
Read later

Photo: twitter.com/ICC

Perth: Indian captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and chose to bat against South Africa in Perth on Sunday in a battle of unbeaten sides bidding for a semi-final spot at the Twenty20 World Cup.

India made one change from their win against the Netherlands with Deepak Hooda coming in for Axar Patel in the second match of a double-header at the Perth stadium.

India edged out Pakistan in their opening match and a third win would boost their hopes of sealing one of the two final-four places in Group 2.

South Africa, led by Temba Bavuma, are a point behind table-toppers India and Bangladesh after a washout against Zimbabwe and a thumping victory over Bangladesh.

The Proteas selected an extra pace bowler in Lungi Ngidi on a pacy and bouncy pitch, which earlier witnessed Pakistan restrict the Netherlands to 91-9 and win by six wickets.

Spinner Tabraiz Shamsi misses out for South Africa, who have never won a cricket World Cup.

India: Rohit Sharma (capt), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Deepak Hooda, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammad Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh

South Africa: Quinton de Kock, Temba Bavuma (capt), Rilee Rossouw, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Wayne Parnell, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi

Umpires: Langton Rusere (ZIM), Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

TV Umpire: Richard Illingworth (ENG)

Match Referee: David Boon (AUS)


Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.