Who will fight Pinarayi Vijayan in Dharmadom?

PP Saseendran

1 min read
Read later

Pinarayi Vijayan | Photo: Mathrubhumi

Kozhikode: The UDF members are anxiously waiting for that name who will enter the electoral fray against Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan at Dharmadom in Kannur. Even they don’t believe anyone could defeat the CPM supremo in his bastion. But UDF expects to put up a strong fight with a popular candidate.

Ever since the formation of the constituency, Dharmadom has favoured CPM. In 2011, CPM leader KK Narayanan won with a majority of 15,177 votes while in 2016, Pinarayi Vijayan won with a whopping majority of 36,905 votes.

Both times, UDF’s Mambaram Divakaran was the opponent. However, it is reported that he will not enter the fray this year.

The Congress leadership is mulling strong and popular candidate names including G Devarajan of Forward Bloc, AICC Spokesperson Dr Shama Mohamed, INTUC leader C Raghunath and KSU State Vice President VP Abdul Rasheed.

Meanwhile, CPM is hoping for an easy win as many developmental projects were completed in Dharmadom, the CM’s constituency.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.

kt jaleel k anilkumar am arif

1 min

Hijab row: Anil Kumar’s opinion strictly personal, says KT Jaleel

Oct 3, 2023

തിരുവല്ലയില്‍ റെയില്‍വേ അടിപ്പാതയിലെ വെള്ളത്തില്‍ മുങ്ങിയ കാര്‍

1 min

Narrow escape for passengers as car plunges into waterlogged underbridge in Pathanamthitta  

Oct 3, 2023


1 min

Gambling gang busted at Trivandrum Club; 9 arrested, Rs 5.6 lakh seized 

Oct 3, 2023