Torrential rain: Holiday for educational institutions in 6 districts on Thursday

Kozhikode: All educational institutions will remain shut in Thrissur, Ernakulam Kottayam, Idukki, Alappuzha and Pathanamthitta on Thursday. District collectors of the six districts declared a holiday for all educational institutions including professional colleges in view of the incessant downpour.

The India Meteorological Department has sounded an orange alert in these districts.

By Wednesday evening itself, Kottayam, Idukki and Alappuzha declared Thursday holiday.

Though Pathanamthitta, Ernakulam and Thrissur district collectors had declared holiday in selected Taluks, it was extended later.

The holiday is applicable to all educational institutions except for residential ones.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.