Timing of Chennai -Mangalore Express to be modified

1 min read
Read later

Representative image | Photo: Mathrubhumi

Chennai: Timing of train number 12685 / Chennai-Mangalore Superfast Express will be modified in such a way that the service will start from Chennai between 5:00 PM and 6:00 PM, informed Congress MP MK Raghavan.

According to the MP, Southern Railway general manager BG Mallya has assured that the timing will be changed.

At present, the train starts at 4:20 PM from Chennai. The timings at Palakkad, Shoranur, Tirur, Kozhikode, Vadakara, Thalassery, Kannur and Payyannur stations are 12:50 AM, 1:45 AM, 2:25 AM, 03:10 AM, 04:10 AM, 04:40 AM, and 5:08 AM, respectively.

Those boarding the Express train from Chennai have to take half-day leave as the train starts at 4:20 PM. Similarly, the commuters of the train arriving in stations between Shoranur and Kannur find the timing inconvenient. It may be noted that most commuters of the train are to these stations and they have demanded to change the time.

The present timing has been in place from July 1, 2021. Due to Covid-19 pandemic, the number of commuters then was apparently less. However, as pandemic curbs were lifted, the number of commuters have returned to normal. Commuters are now demanding changing the timing. The development comes at this juncture.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.

Gopi Kottamurikkal

1 min

RBI stand no bar, will provide financial aid to Karuvannur bank if CPM asks: Kerala Bank President

Oct 1, 2023

puthankurish police station

1 min

Four of family attacked by neighbour with sharp weapon in Kerala, accused taken into custody

Oct 1, 2023

Indian badminton players Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, Kidambi Srikanth, Rohan Kapoor, Chirag Shetty, Arjun Madathil Ramachandran and HS Prannoy | Photo: PTI

2 min

Badminton at Asian Games: India sign off with first-ever team silver after losing to China in final

Oct 1, 2023