AN Shamseer elected as Kerala assembly speaker

Thiruvananthapuram: AN Shamseer, LDF MLA from Thalassery took charge as speaker in the Kerala assembly on Monday after defeating UDF MLA Anwar Sadath by 56 votes in the election.

Shamseer obtained 96 votes while Anwar Sadath bagged 40 votes in the election. Deputy Speaker Chittayam Gopakumar headed the election procedures.

Earlier, the speaker post was vacant after MB Rajesh became Minister of excise and Local Self Government departments.

Shamseer who got elected to assembly twice from the Thalassery constituency is the first speaker from Kannur district.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.