SFI reconstitutes Wayanad district committee after attack on office of Rahul Gandhi

Photo: MV Sanoj/Mathrubhumi

Kalpetta: SFI reconstituted the Wayanad district committee by including a few faces of the previous committee which was dismissed following the attack on Rahul Gandhi's office in Kalpetta.

Joyal Joseph was elected the president, and Jishnu Shaji the secretary of the 36-member district committee. They were part of the previous committee. The new committee was elected at the district conference, inaugurated by SFI state secretary PM Arsho.

Following the vandalism, the state committee has dismissed the district committee and constituted an ad hoc committee. SFI then initiated an internal investigation on the role of the district committee members in the attack.

On June 24, the office of Rahul Gandhi MP was vandalised by SFI activists during a march against his alleged inaction on the issue of buffer zones around forests.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.