Kaleekkal Madom N Parameswaran Namboothiri is new head priest of Sabarimala temple

1 min read
Read later

Kaleekkal Madom N Parameswaran Namboothiri

Sabarimala: New head priests have been appointed in Sabarimala Ayyappa temple. Kaleekkal Madom N Parameswaran Namboothiri will be the new head priest of Sabarimala temple and Kuruvakkad Sambhu Namboothiri is selected as Malikappuram head priest.

Kaleekkal Madom N Parameswaran Namboothiri is son of late Narayanan Namboothiri and Subhadra Antharjanam. He had served as head priest in Haripad Chettikulangara temple and Pampa Mahaganapati temple. Currently, he is head priest of Evoor Sreekrishnaswamy temple. His wife is Umadevi Antharjanam of Paivallikkal Illam and children are Narayanan Namboothiri and Vishnu Namboothiri.

Kaleekkal Madom N Parameswaran Namboothiri
N Parameswaran Namboothiri

The draw of lots to select the new head priest took place on Sunday morning after the morning rituals. The lot was taken after a silver pot that carries the names of 9 priests was placed for puja inside the shrine.

The selection of head priest for Sabarimala temple was carried out first. As per customs, the children of Pandalam Palace take the lot. Govind Varma of Pandalam Palace took the lot to select Sabarimala temple head priest.

Devaswom Board President N Vasu, High Court observer retired Justice N Bhaskaran and others supervised the draw. The newly selected head priests will take charge on Vrishchikam 1 when the temple opens for Mandalam festival season. The shrine will close on October 21 at 10 pm.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.


1 min

Malayali cop brutally assaulted by three-member gang in Delhi 

Sep 22, 2023


2 min

JD(S) joins hands with BJP, Kerala component calls state committee

Sep 22, 2023

vande bharat

1 min

New Vande Bharat granted stop at Tirur, ET Mohammed Basheer says

Sep 22, 2023