Ramon Magsaysay Award: CPM and KK Shailaja on same page, says Sitaram Yechury

Sitaram Yechury / Photo: PG Unnikrishnan

New Delhi: CPM and KK Shailaja are on the same page, said party general secretary Sitaram Yechury on Sunday, refuting the media reports that the leadership pressurized the latter to decline Ramon Magsaysay Award.

Yechury said that Shailaja herself cited many reasons to decline the award and the party did not compel her to do so. “She is part of the high-level committee of the central leadership which takes decisions,” he said.

Yechury also listed the various reasons that led to the decision. Shailaja was nominated for Ramon Magsaysay Award not for any personal achievement, but for the combined efforts of the government in containing the spread of Nipah and Covid-19. She raised these realities in a letter to the award committee. However, the committee responded that the award is given to individuals only. Also, the committee do not have the precedent of giving awards to active politicians. But, “KK Shailaja is an active politician” Yechury added.

CPM also suggested declining the award as it is named after the late Philippines president, who worked against the Communist guerillas, he further said.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.