Railway to cancel 8 stops in Kerala for Nizamuddin-Ernakulam special train

Representational Image | Photo: Mathrubhumi Archives

Nileshwaram: Southern railway is gearing up to cancel 8 stops of Nizamuddin-Ernakulam Superfast Special (02618) train which takes daily service through Kerala. The authority has taken the decision as part of revising the train schedule of the southern railway.

The revised schedule will come into force from November 30.

Ernakulam-Hazrat Nizamuddin Mangala Express Daily Special (02617) has halts at 47 railway stations at present. But while returning to Ernakulam, 8 stops will be cancelled.

Kanhangad, Nileshwaram, Pazhayangadi, Vatakara, Koyilandy, Feroke, Parappanangadi and Kuttuppuram are the 8 stations which will be cancelled. The southern railway has decided that the train will have stops at major railway stations between 11 pm and 4 am.

The railway has operated Nizamuddin-Ernakulam and Lokmanya Tilak-Thiruvananthapuram special trains as part of COVID unlock process. Train stops was allotted only in district capital with an aim to control spread of COVID-19.

At present, Ernakulam-Hazrat train is operated in the time schedule of Mangala-Lakshadweep express.

It is assumed that if the train services resume completely, there is more probability that these stops will be avoided.

Meanwhile, there will be no change in the stops of Lokmanya Tilak-Thiruvananthapuram train.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.