Protest over Municipal Chairperson post: CPM expels 3 branch secretaries in Alappuzha

1 min read
Read later

CPM had made Soumya Rajendran as the chairperson of Alappuzha Municipality.

Representational Image | Photo: Mathrubhumi

Alappuzha: CPM has expelled 3 branch secretaries for organising protest against party’s decision regarding Alappuzha Municipality chairperson.

CPM had made Soumya Rajendran the chairperson of Alappuzha Municipality. This caused outrage among the party workers. 19 party members, including 3 branch secretaries, organised a protest march in Alappuzha town against this.

CPM district leadership observed that this was a severe disciplinary lapse from the side of the workers. The party sought an explanation from all 19 workers after this. It was on the basis of this explanation that the party decided to expel the 3 branch secretaries.

The protest was attended by party members from Nehru Trophy ward. They were outraged after senior party leader, KK Jayamma, was overlooked for the post of chairperson. Strong protests were raised in Alappuzha South and North area committees as well.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.


1 min

Mission Arikomban again! Legal experts differ on whether TN govt can cage tusker

May 28, 2023


1 min

Toddler in critical condition after sustaining serious injuries on private parts and internal organs

May 28, 2023


3 min

Arikomban: Kerala forest minister takes a dig at pro-animal outfits over TN episode

May 27, 2023