Prof Salim Yusuf, Dr M Leelavathy, among others bag state govt’s Kairali Awards

Prof Salim Yusuf, Dr M Leelavathy, Dr A Ajayaghosh, MA Oommen

Thiruvananthapuram: Kerala government has announced the Kairali Research Awards instituted to encourage the most eminent research scholars and research pedagogues of the state.

Prof Salim Yusuf of McMaster University, Canada, hailing from Kottarakkara, has been selected for Kairali global lifetime achievement prize for holistic contribution in science-social science spheres. The award consists of a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh and a Certificate of Merit.

Critic Dr M Leelavathy (arts and humanities), Dr A Ajayaghosh (science), chemical scientist and former director of National Institute For Interdisciplinary Science and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram, MA Oommen (social science), former state economic commission chief and honorary professor of Centre for Development Studies, Thiruvananthapuram are the persons from Kerala-based institutes who were selected for holistic contributions. The award consists of a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh and a Certificate of Merit.

According to higher education minister R Bindu, Kairali Research Awards is one of the premier awards instituted by a state government in the country.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.