Oommen Chandy becomes longest serving member of Kerala Assembly

Oommen Chandy | Mathrubhumi file photo

Thiruvananthapuram: Congress veteran and former Kerala Chief Minister Oommen Chandy on Tuesday became the longest serving member of the state Assembly by representing his home constituency Puthupally, in the House for 18,728 days.

By completing 51 years and over three months as MLA, he broke the existing record in the name of former Kerala Congress (M) supremo late K M Mani. Just as Mani had represented Pala, his home turf, in the House, Chandy represented only Puthuppally in the past five decades.

Beginning his stint as a legislator by winning in the 1970 state Assembly polls at the age of 27, he has won 11 back-to-back polls since then. 78-year-old Chandy became the CM of the state for two times-from 2004-06 and 2011-16. Besides becoming the minister for four times in various cabinets in the past decades, he also served as the Leader of Opposition in the state Assembly four times.

Addressing media, Chandy gave all credit for his rare record to the people of Puthuppally, saying each of his victories was the opportunity given by the voters of the home turf. Late K M Mani still holds the record of having been the longest serving minister in the state Assembly till date.


Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.