CPM decides to fill only Govindan's vacancy; new minister to be from Kannur

By R Sreejith

1 min read
Read later

Cabinet meeting (File image) | Photo: Mathrubhumi

Thiruvananthapuram: The CPM leadership of Kerala has arrived at a consensus that the vacancy to be created by the resignation of CPM state secretary MV Govindan in the state cabinet will only be filled at present.

The new minister is likely to be from Kannur. KK Shailaja, AN Shamseer, TI Madhusoodanan, KV Sumesh and M Vijin are the CPM MLAs from the district.

Govindan will tender his resignation after the Assembly session concludes on Thursday. He was appointed as the CPM state secretary after Kodiyeri Balakrishnan relieved himself due to ailing health.

There is already one vacancy for CPM in the cabinet, created by the resignation of Saji Cheriyan following his controversial speech on the Indian Constitution.

It was speculated that in view of the Vizhinjam protest, a leader from the coastal region or from the trade union will be accomodated in the ministry. However, the leadership has decided to keep the seat vacant for now.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.