Muslim League announces candidates for 25 seats; woman candidate included after 25 years

M P Abdussamad Samadani is the UDF candidate for Malappuram Lok Sabha bypolls.

Representational image | Photo: Mathrubhumi

Kozhikode: Muslim League announced its candidates for 25 seats for the upcoming assembly election. V K Ebrahimkunju who was named accused in corruption case and M C Kamaruddin who was named accused in a financial fraud case have been excluded from the list. Ebrahimkunju's son V E Abdul Gafoor has been fielded in Kalamassery seat.

For the first time after 1996, a woman candidate has been included in the candidate list. Noorbina Rasheed will contest the polls from Kozhikode South. Prior to this, Vanitha League former chairperson Khamarunnisa Anwar was fielded in Kozhikode second constituency in 1996.

Congress leader Dinesh Perumanna was given Kunnamangalam seat unexpectedly. He will contest as UDF independent candidate.

M P Abdussamad Samadani is the UDF candidate for Malappuram Lok Sabha bypolls. P V abdul Wahab will be fielded in the Rajya Sabha seat which will fall vacant.

The candidates were selected following the three term policy. However, the rule has been relaxed for P K Kunhalikutty, M K Muneer and KPA Majeed.

Former minister M K Muneer will switch from Kozhikode South seat to Koduvalli. Youth League leader P K Firoz has been fielded in Tanur. Manjalamkuzhi Ali switched from Perinthalmanna to Mankada. Candidate in Permbra seat will be declared after clearing confusion over Chadayamangalam and Punalur seats.

List of candidates

  1. Manjeswaram – MKM Ashraf
  2. Kasaragod – N A Nellikkunnu
  3. Azhikode – K M Shaji
  4. Koothuparamba – Pottankandi Abdulla
  5. Kuttiady – Parakkal Abdulla
  6. Kozhikode South – Noorbina Rasheed
  7. Kunnamangalam – Dinesh Perumanna
  8. Koduvalli – M K Muneer
  9. Thiruvambadi – CP Cheriya Muhammed
  10. Kondotty – T V Ibrahim
  11. Eranad – P K Basheer
  12. Manjeri – UA Latheef
  13. Perinthalmanna – Najeeb Kanthapuram
  14. Mankada – Manjalamkuzhi Ali
  15. Malappuram – P Ubaidulla
  16. Vengara – PK Kunhalikutty
  17. Vallikkunnu – Anbdul Hameed Master
  18. Thirurangadi – KPA Majeed
  19. Tanur – PK Firoz
  20. Tirur – Kurukkoli Moideen
  21. Kottakkal – Abid Hussain Thangal
  22. Mannarkkad – N Shamsuddin
  23. Guruvayur – KNA Khader
  24. Kalamassery – VE Abdul Gafoor
  25. Kongad – UC Raman

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.