Missing of assembly ballot box: Treasury officers issued suspension orders

1 min read
Read later

Representative Image

Malappuram: Treasury officials in Perinthalmanna (Malappuram) constituency were issued suspended orders on account of the reported missing of postal ballot box of the 2021 assembly election.

Treasury director V Sajan issued the suspension order to Perinthalmanna sub treasury officer N Satheesh Kumar and senior accountant S Rajeev. The order was sent to the district treasury officer KG Praveen via email on Wednesday. The action has been taken based on the report of the central region deputy treasury director P Suresh, which found serious lapses from the side of the accused officials.

The vigilance wing of the treasury directorate is entitled to probe similar cases. However, no order has been issued by entrusting the investigation with the vigilance department.

The ballot box of 2021 assembly election had been mistakenly handed over to the officer from the Cooperative department when the latter visited to receive the materials of block panchayat election stored in the sub treasury strong room. Satheesh Kumar and Rajeev were entrusted with the charge of the strong room then.

A case related to assembly election in Perinthalmanna constituency has been proceeding in the Kerala High Court. The ballot box contained documents demanded by the High Court.

Chief Electoral Officer Sajay Kaul demanded collector VR Premkumar to launch a detailed probe and submit report within a week after receiving preliminary information from the collector.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.


1 min

Kottayam SI suspended for leaking confidential information to terrorist organisation

Sep 23, 2023


1 min

Malayali cop brutally assaulted by three-member gang in Delhi 

Sep 22, 2023

cm angry

1 min

Announcement made during speech, CM walks out in anger

Sep 23, 2023