Thiruvananthapuram: Prizes for the state-level winners of Nanma scheme (Phase II), jointly implemented by Mathrubhumi and VKC Group in the schools in state, will be distributed on Wednesday. Education Minister C Raveendranath will distribute the prizes at a function to be held at Jawahar Public School, Edava, in Varkala.

Adv V Joy MLA, Gopinath Muthukad, Mathrubhumi director M K Jinachandran, Edava panchayat president Sunitha S Babu, Fr Cyriac Madathil, V K C Rasaq, Sudheer Ambalappad, and Fr Mathews Chakkalakkal will attend the programme, to be chaired by V K C Mammad Koya MLA.

As many as 9178 schools took part in the activities of Nanma last year. Under the scheme, students took the initiative in building 50 houses, provided financial assistance of Rs 6.3 crore to the needy and were involved in 2477 charity activities.

The first prize winner, Vidyadhiraja Memorial Model School, Kollam, will receive Rs 1 lakh while SN Vidyabhavan Senior Secondary School, Thrissur, which came second, will get Rs 75,000. Third prize winner Jawahar Public School, Thiruvananthapuram, will receive Rs 50,000. The winners from Thiruvananthapuram, Attingal, and Neyyattinkara educational districts will also be distributed at the programme.