Mathrubhumi Award for T Padmanabhan

Acclaimed short story writer T Padmanabhan has been selected for this year's Mathrubhumi Literary Award.

Kozhikode: Acclaimed short story writer T Padmanabhan has been selected for this year's Mathrubhumi Literary Award.

Padmanabhan was selected by a panel chaired by literary critic M Leelavathi. Novelist M Mukundan and writer C Radhakrishnan were the other members of the jury, informed Mathrubhumi Managing Director M P Veerendrakumar and Managing Editor P V Chandran.

The award comprises a purse of Rs 2 lakh, sculpture and a citation.

The panel opined that Padmanabhan gave a new dimension to the Malayalam short story stream.

Right from his first work, Padmanabhan carried the Malayalam readers through a unique and novel path. He gave human beings, animals and various elements of nature a lively portrayal in his works. The expressions Padmanabhan put into words shared along with sorrows the feelings of human mind. All the time, he upheld the dignity of the short stories, the panel added.

Born to Puthiyidath Krishnan Nair and Devaki (Ammukutty) at Pallikunnu near Kannur in1931, Padmanabhan completed his education from Chirakkal Raja's High School, Mangalapuram Government Arts College and Madras Law College.

1n 1948, his first story was published at the age of 15 years.

His stories have been translated to various Indian languages and also to English, French, German and Russian.

Padmanabhan is a recipient of several coveted honours including the Ezhuthachan Award, Vallathol Award, Vayalar Award, Lalithambika Antharjanam Award, Muttathu Varkey Award, Odakkuzhal Award and Sahitya Parishad Award. He also won the Bharatiya Bhasha Parishad's Award for his outstanding contributions to Indian languages.

Prakasam Parathunna Penkutti, a collection of his short stores, has been translated to 11 languages. In 1974 Sakshi, another collection, bagged the Kendra Sahitya Akademi Award while Gowri won Kendra Sahitya Akademi Award in 1996.

Prakasam Parathunna Penkutti, Oru Kadakrithu Kurisil, Makhan Singhinte Maranam, Sakshi, Veedu Nasthapetta Penkutti, Kalabhairavan, Kathunna Oru Radhachakram, Nalinakanthi, Gowri, Kadal, Padmanabhante Kadhakal, Pallikunnu and Khalifa Umarinte Pinmurakkar are a few among his popular works.

In the past, Thikkodiyan, M V Devan, Pala Narayanan Nair, O V Vijayan, M T Vasudevan Nair, M Mukundan, Akkitham, Kovilan, Vishnunarayanan Namboothiri, Dr Sukumar Azhikode, Dr M Leelalavathi, Punathil Kunjabdullaand Sugathakumari have received the Mathrubhumi Literary Award.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.