LDF wins Pathanamthitta Municipality with support of Congress rebels

1 min read
Read later

3 SDPI MLAs stayed away from the election.

Representational Image | Photo: Mathrubhumi

Pathanamthitta: LDF has won Pathanamthitta Municipality with the support of Congress rebels. LDF confirmed their victory after SDPI stayed away from voting. With this, LDF will be ruling Pathanamthitta Municipality after 10 years.

LDF’s chairman candidate, T Zakir Hussain, secured 16 votes including that of 3 Congress rebels. Meanwhile, UDF gathered only 13 votes. 3 SDPI MLAs stayed away from the election. UDF alleged that this was because of the secret pact with LDF.

Both LDF and UDF won 13 seats each in Pathanamthitta Municipality which has 32 seats in total. SDPI won 3 seats and the rebels won in the remaining 3. Meanwhile, SDPI claimed that Congress rebel Amina Hyderali, who voted for LDF, won with their support.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.