LDF, UDF win 9 seats each in local body by-polls

1 min read
Read later

Photo: Sunil Kumar C | Mathrubhumi

Thiruvananthapuram: LDF lost two seats it held earlier in the local self-governing bodies to Congress and an independent candidate. BJP also lost a seat to Congress.

The Left Democratic Front and United Democratic Front won 9 seats each in the byelections held recently. BJP won one seat and an Independent candidate also won in the elections for a total of 20 seats.

BJP won a seat in a ward at Elampalloor panchayat in Kollam district while independent candidate Sunny Abraham won in the 2nd ward of Kallar panchayat in Kasaragod defeating a CPI-backed independent.

UDF wrested Vandanmedu-Achankanam ward from CPM and Badiyadka-Pattaje seat from BJP.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.