Thiruvananthapuram: With the bagging of the Mayor post with Congress rebel support in Kannur corporation, the Left Democratic Front (LDF) is all set to rule five out of the six corporations in the state. 

LDF nominees were elected as mayors in Thiruvananthapuram and Thrissur corporations, where no party has majority.

Among corporations, the UDF will rule only Kochi. Saumini Jain of Congress is the mayor.

V K Prasanth was selected as the mayor of Thiruvananthapuram. Prasanth got 42 votes to become the mayor of the corporation which has 100 members. Though LDF had 43 members, one members vote was declared invalid.

V Rajendrababu is the mayor of Kollam. Rajendra Babu got the support of 36 members to become the mayor of the corporation which has 55 members.

In Thrissur, Ajitha Jayarajan was selected as the mayor. She won from Kokkala ward. The LDF and UDF has 25 and 21 members respectively in the corporation which has 55 members.

The LDF has come to power in the corporations of Thrissur and Thiruvananthapuram after the candidates of UDF and BJP stood for the mayor and deputy mayor posts. No single party has a clear majority in both these corporations.

V K C Mammad Koya is the mayor of Kozhikode. E P Latha of CPM was elected as the first mayor of Kannur corporation as Congress rebel P K Ragesh voted for the LDF.  When both the LDF and UDF had 27 members each in the 55 member corporation, the vote of P K Ragesh proved crucial in LDF  coming to power in the corporation. Though Chief Minister Oommen Chandy tried to pacify Ragesh, he adopted the stand that he will give support only if the conditions put forward by him were met. As Ragesh's conditions were not agreed, he voted for the LDF.