LDF plans to consider seats of Kerala Congress as single package

2 min read
Read later

The seat sharing package includes 7-8 seats for Jose K Mani faction and 6-7 seats for other allies.

Kerala Congress leaders | Photo: Mathrubhumi

Thiruvananthapuram: Though the LDF has not started official talks regarding the seats to be given to Kerala Congress in the upcoming local body election, it seems that they are planning of a single package for various factions of Kerala Congress.

Apart from Jose K Mani, the Democratic Kerala Congress, Skaria faction and Balakrishna Pillai faction also are part of the LDF. All of them contested the polls as part of the front last time.

The seat sharing package includes 7-8 seats for Jose K Mani faction and 6-7 seats for other allies. The seats are considered as a package in order to help them exchange the seats to their convenience.

According to reports, Jose K Mani has demanded 12 seats including Idukki, Thodupuzha, Pala, Kaduthuruthy, Kanjirappally, Changanassery, Ranni, Chalakudy, Perambra, Piravom or Perumbavoor and Irikkoor or Peravoor.

Unofficial talks were held to discuss the seat sharing. As Kanjirappally is the stronghold of CPI and Pala is the sitting of NCP, both are not finalised.

Instead of Pala seat, NCP was offered the Rajya Sabha seat which will be vacant after Jose K Mani's resignation. However, they were not ready to accept the offer.

If Kanjirappally seat is taken from CPI, they will have to be given another seat. As the Kanjirappally is the sitting seat of N Jayaraj of Kerala Congress, the claim on the seat is higher and no other seat can replace it.

Kerala Congress asked for Ranni instead of Thiruvalla where they contested last time. They also expect to win Irikkoor and Peravoor seats with the support of LDF in Malabar. The same formula is behind the request for Piravom or Perumbavoor.

Thiruvananthapuram, Changanassery, Poonjar and Idukki seats, which were contested by Democratic Kerala Congress, are likely to change this time. They were contesting against Kerala Congress in Changanassery, Idukki and Poonjar last time.

Kaduthuruthy seat where Skaria Thomas was fielded last time also is likely to change this year. All these seats will be reorganized on the basis of chances of victory.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.

kochi metro

1 min

145 pc increase in revenue; Kochi Metro gains operating profits for the first time

Sep 22, 2023


1 min

Malayali cop brutally assaulted by three-member gang in Delhi 

Sep 22, 2023


2 min

JD(S) joins hands with BJP, Kerala component calls state committee

Sep 22, 2023