LDF loses simple majority in Tripunithura municipality as BJP wrests two seats from CPM

AFP file photo

Kochi: LDF has lost the simple majority in the Tripunithura municipality as the BJP wrested two of its seats in the byelections.

LDF lost to BJP in elections to wards 11 (Elamanathoppil) and 46 (Pisharikovil). The votes were counted on Wednesday.

Also Read

LDF wins 24, UDF 12, BJP 6 out of 42 local ...

Thrikkakara: CPM finds political opportunity ...

The ruling LDF had 25 seats in the 49-member municipality. Now the seats have been reduced to 23, which is below the simple majority mark. However, it will continue as the largest group in the municipality.

NDA has 17 seats now. UDF has 8 and one member is independent.

Valli Ravi won in the Elamanathoppil ward and Rathi Raju won from Pisharikovil. The elections were necessitated by the demise of LDF councillors.

CPM has accused Congress-BJP nexus in the polls.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.