KSRTC buses to get new identification numbers based on districts they belong

Representational Image | Mathrubhumi

Thiruvananthapuram: Kerala State Road Transport Corporation (KSRTC) buses from each district can now be identified using the 'district common pool' (DCP) number printed on the bus. Earlier, the KSRTC bus only had a bonnet and registration number for identification. With the new feature, all 14 districts will have their own separate codes for bus running service.

The DCP number starts with two English alphabets denoting the district to which the bus belongs. After this, a unique number for each bus will follow. The depots are tasked with providing identification numbers to the buses.

DCP number in each district starts are Thiruvananthapuram (TV), Kollam (KL), Pathanamthitta (PT), Alappuzha (AL), Kottayam (KT), Idukki (ID), Ernakulam (EK), Thrissur (TR), Palakkad (PL), Malappuram (ML), Kozhikode (KK), Wayanad (WN), Kannur (KN), and Kasaragod (KG).

With this, the buses conducting services in each district can be identified. The number will be printed on the front and left side of the bus.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.