Kodiyeri poised to become CPM state secretary for third term; revamps expected along party lines

By K Pathmajan

2 min read
Read later

Kodiyeri Balakrishnan | Photo: Mathrubhumi

Kochi: CPM veteran and one of the tallest leaders of the party, Kodiyeri Balakrishnan, is poised to become CPM state secretary for the third term as both state leadership and central leadership is in unison about having him in the position. Among the party followers also, Kodiyeri is an approachable and acceptable figure. Notably, he will join the line of CPM veterans Pinarayi Vijayan and VS Achuthanandan who have become the party secretaries five times and three times, respectively.

Stringent Criteria

In both the state secretariat and committee, big changes are expected. It is the central committee that has decided that members exceeding the age of 75 years should not be allowed in major positions in the party. It is learnt that only Pinarayi Vijayan will be given an exception in the state secretariat. There are deliberations to select secretariat during state conference itself contrary to the precedent that the process is conducted in a later stage.

Ministers like Saji Cheriyan and VN Vasavan, former ministers M Vijayakumar and Kadakamppily Surendran, and Kannur’s P Jayarajan, MV Jayarajan, Ernakulam’s Gopi Kottamurikalm, Kasaragod’s KP Satheesh Chandran and Palakkad’s CK Rajendran are likely to be imbibed in the secretariat.

It is learnt that there is a move to bring more women to the positions. Meanwhile, P Karunakaran, Athalavattam Ananadhan, MM Mani and KJ Thomas will be dropped from the secretariat due to the age limit.

Similarly, there are also plans to avoid central committee members from the 21-member secretariat.

There are speculations that minister Muhammed Riyas may be inducted into the secretariat.

More youngsters to the committee

From the 88-member state committee, some individuals will be shifted by considering their age and competencies.

DYFI’s national president AA Rahim, state president S Satheesh, secretary VK Sanoj, SFI national president VP Sanu and CPM Kannur district secretariat member N Sukanya is expected to be in the new state committee.

Ministers R Bindhu and Veena George will be among the special invitees. Those who are removed due to the age limit will also be considered as special invitees.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.