KN Balagopal included in new cabinet sub-committee of GST Council

B Balagopal / Mathrubhumi News

K N Balagopal

New Delhi: The Union Ministry of Finance included Kerala finance minister K N Balagopal in the new cabinet sub-committee of the GST Council.

Odisha finance minister Niranjan Pujari is the convener of the sub-committee which has 7 members including K N Balagopal, Delhi deputy chief minister Manish Sisodia, Haryana deputy chief minister Dushyant Chautala, Madhya Pradesh finance minister Jagdish Devda, Uttar Pradesh finance minister Suresh Kumar Khanna and Uttarakhand agriculture minister Subodh Uniyal.

The union finance ministry formed the special committee for submitting a report to the GST council regarding the special composition scheme and taxable capacity. The ministry has directed in an order that the report should be submitted to the GST Council within 6 months.

The committee will examine if the current laws are sufficient for levying tax on pan masala, Gutka, brickfields and sand mining. They will also hand over to GST Council the recommendations to stop tax evasion in these sectors.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.