EN Suresh Babu elected as CPM Palakkad district secretary

EN Suresh babu | Photo: Screengrab from Mathrubhumi News

Palakkad: After hours of uncertainty, EN Suresh Babu was named the new secretary to the CPM Palakkad district committee. Earlier, a dispute broke out between leaders after two names were suggested for the role. However, it is learned that Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan intervened on the matter to resolve it.

Former Shoranur MLA PK Sasi backed former Trithala MLA VK Chandran and the incumbent district secretary CK Rajendran nominated district secretariat member EN Suresh Babu. Following this, there was an open dispute between the leaders forcing the state leadership to intervene on the matter. On Saturday, Pinarayi Vijayan summoned the two leaders, and Chandran reportedly backed off.

Meantime, a 44-member district committee was also elected that included 14 newcomers. K Shanthakumari (Kongad MLA), K Binumol, S Krishnadas, CR Sajeev, K Krishnankutty, TK Noushad, KC Rayaduddin, K Preman, R Sivaprakash, K Nandakumar, V Ponnukuttan, PP Sumod (Tarur MLA), A Anithanandan and KN Sukumaran Master are the new faces to represent the party in the district.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.