CPM to oversee government policies, creates 4-member committee

Special Correspondent

The committee will discuss the matters concerning the government and inform the cabinet fraction when they meet on Tuesdays. Besides this, the routine state secretariate meetings on Fridays will also discuss it.

AKG Centre | Photo: Mathrubhumi

Thiruvananthapuram: In a bid to strengthen the control of the party over policy decisions of the Kerala government, CPM has formed a four-member committee including politburo members Kodiyeri Balakrishnan, S Ramachandran Pillai, M A Baby and state acting secretary A Vijayaraghavan.

The committee will discuss the matters concerning the government and inform the cabinet in its meetings on Tuesday. Besides, the routine state secretariat meetings on Fridays will also hold discussions.

As part of the new arrangement, the party will look into major projects like Knowledge Misssion and K-Rail. Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan had recently entrusted officers for carrying out discussions in the Knowledge Mission as the party has not arrived at conclusions on major issues. CPM is yet to finalise the role of government in the Mission which associates with multiple private players.

Organisations like KSSP have already criticised the K-Rail project.

The party wants to avoid controversies like Sprinklr, deep-sea fishing or the amendment to the Kerala Police Act.

The recently concluded state committee had approved a document titled “State government and present responsibilities.” Kodiyeri also wrote articles on ‘Deshabhimani’ explaining the document.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.