Kerala leaders say public wants Rahul Gandhi to helm Congress

K Muraleedharan, Kodikunnil Suresh and Ramesh Chennithala. Photo: Mathrubhumi

Kochi: Congress leadership did a volte-face when Shashi Tharoor and Ashok Gehlot came forward to contest in the election for Congress national president. Congress MP K Muraleedharan asserted that he will vote for the candidate who accepts the Nehru family. He stated that everyone want Rahul Gandhi to occupy the post of AICC president. Muraleedharan also expressed disappointment over Rahul Gandhi's decision to refrain from contesting the polls.

MP Kodikunnil Suresh also extended support to Rahul Gandhi.

"Anyone can contest the election for Congress president. The party will take a decision unanimously. I came to know about Shashi Tharoor's candidature through media. Rahul is eligible for the post. We all expect Rahul's return as party president," he added.

Senior Congress leader Ramesh Chennithala also voiced the same opinion. "Public wants Rahul Gandhi to helm Congress. The huge public support to 'Bharat Jodo Yatra' proves this fact," pointed out Chennithala.

On Monday, Shashi Tharoor met Sonia Gandhi and expressed his intention to contest the upcoming AICC chief polls, while the Congress president conveyed that she would stay "neutral" in the elections.

Sonia Gandhi welcomed the idea of more people contesting the polls and dispelled the notion that there would be an 'official candidate'. Amidst this, the Congress leaders in Kerala came forward declaring their stance on the presidential election.

The feedback by Gandhi on Tharoor's desire to contest is being seen by many as an encouragement to him to contest and he could announce his candidature in the next few days.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.