Kerala gleams with pride as 11 Malayali kids win National Bravery Awards

Malayali children who won the bravery awards

New Delhi: Kerala set a new record by winning 11 bravery awards out of the total 56 awards conferred by the Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW) for the years 2020, 2021 and 2022.

Children from 17 different states were given the awards in a ceremony held after three years.

The Malayali kids bagged awards under the categories Bharat, Markandeya, Prahalada, Eklavya, Abhimanyu, Sravan, Druva and general. As many as 22 children in 2020, 16 children in 2021 and 18 children in 2022 have won the bravery awards in the nation.

The Bharat award 2020 was conferred posthumously to Bihar native Amit Raj who sacrificed his life while saving two children from being burnt to death. Pratik Sudhakar Mane from Maharashtra who sacrificed his life to save his mother from electrocution won Sravan award of ICCW.

Malayali kids who won bravery awards:

M Ahammed Fas, P Muhammed Irfan (Prahalad award 2022); Angel Mariya Jose (Eklavya award 2021), TN Shanis Abdulla (Abhimanyu award 2021), Ummer Mukthar (Dhruv award 2020), Nihad (Dhruv award 2022), K Muhammed Amras, Jayakrishnan Babu (general category); K Seethal Sasi, KN Siva Krishna and N Rithujith (2021). The children are from Malappuram, Thrissur, Kozhikode, Wayanad and Kannur districts.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.