Kerala Congress (M) withdraws from Kuttiady; CPM likely to field AA Rahim

Protest held in Kuttiady over providing seat to Kerala Congress (M) | Photo: Sajan V Nambiar|Mathrubhumi

Kozhikode: The Kerala Congress (M) on Sunday withdrew from contesting in Kuttiady after protests intensified. LDF had offered 13 seats to Kerala Congress (M) including Kuttiady for the upcoming Assembly election. However, with the particular situation in Kuttiady, Jose K Mani faction decided to give back the seat to CPM.

As far as Kerala Congress (M) is considered, the unity and strength of LDF is the first priority. As the victory of LDF and a second term of the LDF government is a political necessity in Kerala, the party has taken such a decision, Jose K Mani said.

Kerala Congress (M) is of the stance that no move from our part should hurt the unity of the front. Though the 13 seats belong to Kerala Congress (M), we have decided to give back the seat taking into consideration the particular situation in Kuttiady constituency. The decision was taken after talks with LDF, he added.

Earlier, former CPM state secretary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan had held talks with Jose K Mani over the issue. The decision comes after the this.

Meanwhile, KP Kunjammad Kutty may not be fielded here as a section of the LDF workers alleged that he was behind the protests. CPM is likely to field AA Rahim in the constituency.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.