CPI MLAs Chinchu Rani, P Prasad, K Rajan, G R Anil get entry to Pinaray Vijayan 2.0 cabinet

Thiruvananthapuram: Four CPI MLAs have been selected to the new cabinet of the Pinarayi Vijayan-led LDF government. K Rajan, P Prasad, J Chinchu Rani and GR Anil will represent CPI in the new cabinet.

Till the last phase of the selection, CPI considered EK Vijayan from Nadapuram as the 4th minister of the party. But the decision was changed as the Kozhikode district committee opposed it. Following this, CPI state executive committee gave priority to GR Anil.

Chinchu Rani will be the first woman from CPI to swear in as minister after 1964. Chinchu Rani and K Rajan are selected to the post of ministers as representatives from Kollam and Thrissur, two power centres of CPI.

Chinchu Rani, K Rajan and P Prasad are the incumbent CPI executive committee members. Apart from this, Chinchu Rani and E Chandrasekharan are also serving as CPI national council members. Hence, E Chandrasekharan’s name was also in the probable list of ministers.

But the CPI finalised Chinchu Rani’s name in the last lap. CPI appointed E Chandrasekharan as legislature party leader and PS Supal as legislature party secretary. K Rajan who is appointed as party deputy leader is likely to get the revenue department in the cabinet.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.