Kerala assembly polls: LDF leads in 89 seats, UDF 49, NDA 2 seats

Thiruvananthapuram: When the counting of postal votes for the Kerala assembly polls is about to be completed, the major political parties are having a neck and neck fight. Trends at 10 am show that LDF is leading in 89 seats, while UDF is ahead in 49 seats and NDA in 2 seats.

A total of 4, 56,771 postal ballots were returned to the returning officers till Saturday. Compared to previous years, postal ballots are high in number. Hence, it is observed that a clear picture of the final results will come out with the completion of counting of postal ballots. The initial trends in the counting of votes in EVMs during the first hour also hinted this fact.

Early leads show that Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, Health Minister K K Shailaja, former Chief Minister Oommen Chandy and opposition leader Ramesh Chennithala were leading in their respective constituencies, while BJP state chief K Surendran is trailing in both the seats-Konni and Manjeswaram.

LDF is leading in Kannur, Kottayam, Alappuzha and Kozhikode constituencies.

Mani C Kappan , PJ Joseph, K Babu, Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan and KK Rema are the UDF candidates who are leading in the initial trends of the poll results.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.