RS Polls: CPM to field John Brittas, Dr V Sivadasan

1 min read
Read later

John Brittas and Dr Sivadasan

Thiruvananthapuram: Kairali TV MD John Brittas and CPM state committee member Dr V Sivadasan will contest as CPM candidates in the Rajya Sabha polls to be held on April 30. CPM state secretariat held on Friday took the decision regarding this.

Dr V Sivadasan is former national secretary of SFI. John Brittas was Delhi-based correspondent for CPM mouthpiece Deshabhimani.

Viju Krishnan and KK Ragesh were also named in the probability list of candidates. But finally, CPM decided to field two new faces in the polls.

LDF meet will be held on Friday evening. An official announcement regarding the RS poll candidates will be made during this meeting.

The election for three Rajya Sabha seats from Kerala will be held on April 30. The elections will be held to the seats left vacant as Vayalar Ravi, PV Abdul Wahab and KK Ragesh will retire from Rajya Sabha on April 21.

The voting will be held from 9 am to 4 pm on April 30. The counting of votes will be held on May 5.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.


1 min

Karuvannur scam: Satheesan carried out transactions on Sundays, charged huge sum as commission

Sep 30, 2023

karuvannur bank

1 min

Kerala Bank to extend support to Karuvannur Bank; MK Kannan assures CM to offer Rs 100 cr

Sep 30, 2023

kattakkada child missing

2 min

13-year-old boy boarded KSRTC bus from Kattakada to go to Florida for his ‘love of animals, birds’

Sep 30, 2023